Updating our languages, currencies and country lists

DOAJ uses standardised lists of currencies and languages, and countries according to ISO 639-2. Several updates have happened to the ISO list since we last did this. Therefore, we have now updated our lists.

The most noticeable changes are the recent name change from Turkey to Türkiye and changing the name of the language Central Khmer to Khmer. These changes do not affect how metadata is uploaded to DOAJ, because the codes themselves don’t change. They will be noticeable in the application form or in metadata downloaded from DOAJ.

For currencies, there were some additions and removals to the list that could affect integrations. For those publishers sending applications via the API, please take note of these.

Currencies Added

Guinean Franc (GNF)
Mexican Unidad de Inversion (UDI) (MXV)
Comorian Franc (KMF)
Bolívar Soberano (VES)
WIR Euro (CHE)
Unidad de Valor Real (COU)
Azerbaijan Manat (AZN)
Unidad de Fomento (CLF)
Dobra (STN)
Lao Kip (LAK)
WIR Franc (CHW)
Mvdol (BOV)
Leone (SLE)
Uruguay Peso en Unidades Indexadas (UI) (UYI)
Unidad Previsional (UYW)
Ouguiya (MRU)
Bolívar Soberano (VED)
US Dollar (Next day) (USN)

Currencies removed from our list

Bolívar (VEF)
Ouguiya (MRO)
Comoro Franc (KMF)
Guinea Franc (GNF)
Kip (LAK)
Azerbaijanian Manat (AZN)
Dobra (STD)

The full list of all changes is available here.

This change is scheduled to go live on Wednesday, 1st February 2023.

%d bloggers like this: